About Me: Alyson McCarty

Hello! My name is Alyson McCarty and I am the new Education Programs Intern for this upcoming year.

I was born and raised in Connecticut along the coastline of Long Island Sound. During my high school career, I had the amazing opportunity to volunteer at our local zoo. That program allowed me to spend my summers learning about a variety of animals and the care they require as well as educating visitors on the animals at the zoo. Getting to work hands-on with some of the animals was a major stepping stone in my future goals and passion for animals.

I am currently in my third year at Iowa State University where I am double majoring in Agricultural Education and Animal Ecology. At Iowa State I am currently a member of the Student Admissions Representatives (STARS) and give bi-weekly tours to prospective students and families. Additionally, I am a member of the Dairy Science Club and serve on multiple committees within the club.

My future career goals are to one day become an Agriculture Educator and run a successful agriculture program at the high school level. Having grown up without a strong agricultural background I was able to experience the positive impacts that learning about agriculture can have on someone. I hope to one day be able to pass my newfound passion for agriculture to the next generation.

I am excited to begin my journey in Agricultural Education and assist in showing the importance of agriculture in our world. I am also excited to begin creating connections with both students and educators from around Iowa. I am excited for the experiences I will gain in this next year and the connections I will make along the way.

Fun fact about me: While at the zoo I was able to help catch and tag geese to be able to track them.

Favorite thing at Iowa State: Making ice cream with the Dairy Science Club on Fridays

Leave a comment